Penny – Week 33

I must admit I thought sand would taste better than this.

For the first time ever, I didn’t sleep for an entire day. It was too hot and I was too miserable. My gums hurt. Mum and Dad tried to rub weird-tasting stuff into my mouth, and squirt horrible medicine down my throat, and give me things to chew that I didn’t want. Now I have two hard little white toothy pegs peeking through at the bottom of my mouth. They make me cry a lot. I hate them.

I can climb and pull myself up to stand now, so that is pretty much what I want to do 24 hours a day. My preferred way to sit is now high on my knees with my butt perched on my little feet. I am strong enough to hold myself up on my hands and knees. I think about crawling a lot, but I’m not entirely sure how to do it. I sway back and forth a bit but it is still much easier to crawl on my belly.

I had a naming ceremony and lots of people came and cooed at me in my little blue and white dress which I had a great time getting watermelon all over (I’m allowed to eat that again). I made a lot of noise while the celebrant apparently said some very lovely things (it was boring, my story was much better). Then I went on my first holiday, down to Gerroa on the south coast. More on that next week.

Leave a comment